Meet Our Staff

Dedicated. Passionate. Mission-driven.
 
 
James W. Horne, Jr.
President and CEO

President and CEO of United Way of Greater Union County (UWGUC) since 2005, James has created an extraordinary track record for developing strong community partnerships, increasing organizational efficiencies, building and retaining board members, and financial competence.  He has maintained the delicate balance of dedication to mission, the need for bold entrepreneurial initiatives, and the application of sound business management needed to run a successful nonprofit organization.  His efforts have stabilized the organization both administratively and financially, with the overall total revenues for UWGUC growing over 80% to date. Read more.

 

Senior Leadership Team

Juanita Ayala-Vargas

VP, Programs and Operations

juanita.vargas@uwguc.org


Community Impact Team

 

Hillside Family Success Center

Yucarly Castillo                                               Marie Alston                                                Gabriella Munoz

Program Manager                                         Program Coordinator                                       Program Assistant

yucarly.castillo@uwguc.org                        almetra.alston@uwguc.org                        Gabriella.Munoz@uwguc.org

 

Denise LaSpata

Focus on Families Consultant

denise.laspata@uwguc.org

 

New Jersey Youth Corps of Union County

Merlis Miranda                                               Donnell Campbell

Program Manager                            Community Service and Life Skills Coordinator

merlis.miranda@uwguc.org                     Donnell.Campbell@uwguc.org

 

NEMA

Carla-Ann Alexander

Administrative Assistant, Newark EMA

carla-ann.alexander@uwguc.org

 


Resource Development Team

Raven Moreno

Development Manager

raven.moreno@uwguc.org

 


Finance Team

Dawn Jeglinski                                                   Maggie Alvarez

Director of Finance and Grants                   Grants Accounting Coordinator

dawn.jeglinski@uwguc.org                           maggie.alvarez@uwguc.org

 


Business Services Team

Valerie Mohyla

Executive Assistant

valerie.moyhla@uwguc.org